Can't be perfect

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Can't be perfect

Postby Quayette » Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:35 am

I'm 4 months into this lifestyle. And although I believe everything in the Starch Solution to be true, I have not been perfect (oily chips, processed nuts, birthday cake and a slice of pizza). I try not to punish myself and keep on doing my best.
Does these kind of temptations go away? How do you deal with guilt, cravings and "bad days"? Does your willpower become stronger? Do you allow yourselves some cheating from time to time?
Have you seen weightloss results even if you don't do it 100%? Have you seen health improvement even though you fall of the wagon?
Quayette

Re: Can't be perfect

Postby kirkj » Wed Nov 01, 2017 12:30 pm

Boy, I don't know. I've been eating this way for about five years and vegan for two years before that. I've eaten a few chips at parties etc over that time, but chips were never something I loved so I don't miss them. I had a fork of my partner's birthday cake a couple days ago, but again, I was never crazy about cake. I am not tempted by meat or dairy and it's been long enough that they now both smell gross.

I mostly miss baked sweets and I have learned to never let myself have them because it is very difficult or impossible for me to limit how much I end up eating. I stay away from bread for the same reason, it's too easy to eat half the loaf. Even compliant treats can be risky for me. If I have one black bean brownie, I want to have five.

One of the things I most like about eating this way is I am finished with the dieting madness. My BMI has been between 21.5 and 22 for 5 years and my weight was never that stable or low. The trade off is that I have completely given up things I used to love like peanut butter, and virtually given up less calorie dense things I really enjoy like bread.
kirkj