osteo prevention and calcium supplements

A place to get your questions answered from McDougall staff dietitian, Jeff Novick, MS, RDN.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

osteo prevention and calcium supplements

Postby Melinda » Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:12 am

Jeff, my husband and I have been eating vegetarian for 18 years, (lots of veggies, and whole grains, but also too much veg junk food also). We recently became vegan, and have cut out a lot of junk food. My husband finally gave up dairy and coffee because osteoporosis seems to run in his family. His Mom had very severe osteo for years, while always eating a well-balanced SAD diet; by that, I mean she never ate fast food, made her own whole grain breads, loved fruits and veggies, and walked daily all of her life. She was a very small woman, though, and the docs found that the cortisol levels were very high in her blood. My husband's sister has already been diagnosed with osteoporosis in her late 50's. She has recently begun Mcdougalling. She has always eaten a similar diet to her mother, but she was diagnosed with chronic fatigue syndrome about 20+ years ago. So there seems to be more of a familial connection unrelated just to diet. Anyway, after reading advice on this forum, I said he should quit taking calcium supplements, which he has. So my question to you is what is your advice about all of this? Am I right in saying that he shouldn't take calcium supplements? He does walk daily, and will likely take up lifting weights soon, as he is quite serious about this - he does not want to end up like his Mom, who really suffered with her osteo.
Melinda

Re: osteo prevention and calcium supplements

Postby JeffN » Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:36 am