Tofu Sour Creme

Share a great recipe or restaurant, ask a question about how to cook something, or mention a good ingredient substitute or packaged food.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Tofu Sour Creme

Postby Jan Tz » Mon Oct 23, 2006 7:38 am

Tofu Sour Creme from the August, 2002 McDougall Newsletter

1 box soft silken tofu
2 and 1/2 Tbs. lemon juice
2 and 1/2 tsp. sugar
dash salt

Blend until smooth and creamy. Store in covered container in the fridge for 7 to 10 days. Stir before using.
Jan Tz

Postby SandyW » Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:04 am

Thanks, Jan...I was looking for something like that...BUT, now don't laugh...like I said, I'm new to all of this and have NEVER even tried tofu. It scares the heck out of me...LOL. I had a package in my hand one day and was going to buy it, but for some reason or other just couldn't. A lot of recipes call for it, so maybe to give it my first try I will use this recipe.
SandyW
_______
"I will not eat anything that walks, runs, skips, hops or crawls. God knows that I've crawled on occasion, and I'm glad that no one ate me." -----Alex Poulos
SandyW

Postby tiranda » Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:50 am

SandyW wrote:I'm new to all of this and have NEVER even tried tofu. It scares the heck out of me...LOL. I had a package in my hand one day and was going to buy it, but for some reason or other just couldn't.

Oh, I know the feeling, I'm sure many of us do. It took me a month or so of looking at the boxes and saying, well, next time, and then when I bought it I would look at it in the cupboard (thank goodness I bought the asceptic packages) and think well, not tonight. But when you have tried it once it gets easier and with more practice you get the hang of it. Once I decided to just COOK WITH IT, it got easier. It was like practiciing baking or pancakes.