Easy recipes for beginners

Share a great recipe or restaurant, ask a question about how to cook something, or mention a good ingredient substitute or packaged food.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Easy recipes for beginners

Postby thomaswiho » Wed Jun 09, 2021 3:47 am

Hi, I just start trying to cook by myself, and I download the Dr.McDougall Mobile Cookbook , but I am a cooking novice right now :( :crybaby: and my home don't have many kitchenware, so it is difficult to follow the recipes.

Can anyone suggest provide recipes that is easy to cook and no need many kitchenware?
thomaswiho

Re: Easy recipes for beginners

Postby VeggieSue » Wed Jun 09, 2021 4:27 am

In the forum's advanced search bar, use the word "snap" and the user "JeffN" and you'll find loads of simple, 5-ingredient, one-pot meals that require just 5 packaged ingredients and the only equipment needed are a pot, a can opener, scissors, and a spoon to stir.

You can also go to Jeff's Facebook album titled "My Simple Recipes" and with each photo keep clicking until you get to the first reply, because that's where he posted each recipe:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?van ... 4432390124

If you want even simpler than that, watch Mary McDougall's meal planner video on the Quick Start page right on this website:

https://www.drmcdougall.com/health/prog ... ick-start/

She'll tell you that a meal can be as simple as a baked potato and some cooked frozen veggies.
VeggieSue

Postby CindyD » Wed Jun 09, 2021 12:44 pm

So when I started I ate tons of baked potatoes and steamed veg (mostly broccoli, cauliflower and/or brussel sprouts). And you don't even need a recipe because it could not be easier! Wash a whole bunch of potatoes and poke holes with fork. (My favorites are russet potatoes and Japanese sweet potatoes with the white flesh and purple skin).