Weight Loss and Recovery

Share your daily McDougall menus and/or keep a journal describing your personal progress.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Weight Loss and Recovery

Postby kirstykay » Tue Mar 03, 2020 11:07 am

I'm going to start logging my food here to keep myself accountable. I have been doing MWL since 01/02/2020, and have lost 8 pounds so far this year. My all-time high weight was 260 lbs. My lowest weight was 160 lbs in 2012. It took me 3 years to lose those 100 lbs. Since then, I have bounced around way too much, and I currently weigh 199. My goal weight is 135. More importantly, I have had T2D since 2004. I have had good results keeping it controlled with diet and exercise in the past, but lately not so much. I decided in January to make 2020 the year I finally reverse this disease and reach my goal weight. I have not been perfect, not even close, but I am still at it 2 months later and feel like recording things here will help me fine-tune my efforts and hold me accountable.

I am logging my food and activity here each day, as well as my fasting blood sugar. I will record my A1c and other lab results when I get those done. I am weighing in on the MWL monthy thread each Friday, so will record my weight here weekly.

I will also comment on how well I do on Jeff Novick's MWL 10-point checklist each day:

1. Start each meal with a soup and/or salad and/or fruit.

2. Follow the 50/50 plate method for your meals, filling half your plate (by visual volume) with non-starchy vegetables and 50% (by visual volume) with minimally processed starches. Choose fruit for dessert.

3. Greatly reduce or eliminate added sugars and added salts. This includes gourmet sugars and salts too. If either is troublesome for you, you can eliminate them.

4.. Eliminate all animal foods (dairy, meat, eggs, fish, seafood).

5. Eliminate all higher fat plant foods (i.e., nuts, seeds, avocados, tofu, soy).

6. Eliminate any added oil.